Leaders Connect

A word from the CEO

What a year it has been for our sector here in SA!

So many conversations about reform, so much energy and thinking into how to do things better! And now, time for a rest and a reset so in 2020 we can make it all happen!

Wishing everyone a safe and happy holiday season and I look forward to welcoming you to a conference, program, forum or event in the New Year.

Taryn Sexton
CEO

December 2019
Edition 099

Emerging Leaders Program 2019

Last Friday marked the final program day and graduation for our 2019 Emerging Leaders. We were joined by their CEOs, GMs and invited guests to celebrate their successful completion of the program.

Each and every one of our emerging leaders has had a unique experience this year. They have all ventured out of their comfort zones, worked exceptionally hard, taken time to reflect on their values and leadership journey and, through all program activities, have exercised leadership, pushed personal boundaries, experimented in a low risk environment and grown both personally and professionally.

To each of our graduates, we wish continued success, humility through the highs of leadership and confidence through the lows.  We hope that they leave this year with a solid network of counterparts, with new connections and doors open, and an ongoing focus on their professional development.

Congratulations to you all!

Our 2020 Emerging Leaders Program will be launching soon, registrations open in January 2020. Watch this space for more information.

2020 Annual State Conference 

Trust and collaboration play a vital role in delivering results to our communities. Join us at our Annual State Conference to look at trust through the lens of ourselves, out teams and our communities.

View program and register

19th Annual Leadership Excellence Awards - Nominate today!

Help us recognise your amazing achievements over the past year. Nominations close Friday 31 January. 

Find out more or nominate today

Sponsor Insight

Your star is shining bright this festive season with Statewide Super!

Once again, this year we were proud to be one of only six super funds nationally to receive a 5-star CANSTAR rating. This is the highest rating provided by Australia’s biggest financial comparison site and joins our Platinum rating by SuperRatings and 5-Apples rating by Chant West^.

We’re also pleased to share that our MySuper investment option has achieved top quartile returns for the  five year period ending 31 October 2019.*

With the New Year soon upon us, now is a great time to get your super sorted and make sure you’re on track to reach your retirement goals. We have a number of resources available to help you with this, including calculators and digital advice at www.statewide.com.au.

We wish you a safe and joyous festive season, and we look forward to seeing many of you at the Annual LG Professionals, SA State Conference in March 2020.

^To learn more about our awards, please visit the following sites – Canstar 5 Star Rating 2019 – www.canstar.com.au/star-rating-reports/superannuation, Chant West 5 Apples Ratings 2019 – for further information about the methodology used by Chant West, see www.chantwest.com.au and SuperRatings Platinum Rating 2020 – www.superratings.com.au/ratings-and-awards. Ratings are only one factor to be taken into account when deciding whether to invest in a financial product.

*For the period to 31 October 2019, Statewide Super’s MySuper investment option delivered top-quartile investment performance over 5 years according to the SuperRatings Fund Crediting Rate Survey.

Investment returns can go up and down and are not guaranteed. All investments have risk, and past performance is not a reliable indicator of future performance For more information on risks associated with investing, consider the “Risks of Super” and “How we invest your money” booklets available at statewide.com.au or by calling 1300 65 18 65.

Statewide Superannuation Pty Ltd ABN 62 008 099 223 (AFSL 243171) Trustee and RSE Licensee of Statewide Superannuation Trust ABN 54 145 196 298 (“Statewide Super”). In deciding whether to acquire, or continue to hold, a Statewide Super product, please consider the applicable Product Disclosure Statement (PDS) available at statewide.com.au or by calling 1300 65 18 65. Issued in December 2019.

LGRS 2020 Risk Conference

The Future of Risk

The 2020 LGRS Risk Management Conference explores current and emerging risks specific to the Local Government industry.

Detailing the key risks highlighted by Council CEOs, as well as looking at future risks, this is a unique opportunity to hear from industry leaders with interactive workshops held throughout the day.

More information here

Network News

We often use the word 'busy' but I'd like to say it has been a 'full' year for our networks in 2019!

We delivered 22 network events across the year including 2 conferences with a total of 867 attendees across all events.

I'd like to thank our Network Chairs and Committee Members for all of their hard work and contribution to the sector in 2019. We couldn't deliver what we do without your fantastic ideas and support.

Forum dates for 2020 are currently being finalised and will be available on the network web pages and our events calendar shortly.

I look forward to seeing you in 2020 at one of our network events!

Regards,
Tahlia Willey
Network and Program Officer

New Members

  • Richard Dekker, City of Onkaparinga
  • Ynys Onsman, City of Onkaparinga
  • Tim Pfeiffer, Renmark Paringa Council
  • Karen Wetherall, Renmark Paringa Council

Welcome!

Register Today!

Making and Influencing Decisions at Council
Tuesday 4 February 2020
Find out more

Local Government Management Program
Program commences on Wednesday 6 March 2020
Find out more

IGNITE Program
Program commences Tuesday 24 March 2020
Find out more

Women's Program
Program commences Monday 4 May 2020
Find out more

Save the date

Please mark the following dates in your calendar for 2020. You won't want to miss out on these!
  • Leading with Emotional Intelligence
    Friday 14 February 2020

  • HR Network Forum
    Thursday 27 February 2020

  • Working with Communities Workshop
    Friday 7 March 2020

  • 19th Annual Leadership Excellence Gala Awards Dinner
    Friday 22 May 2020

  • Emerging Leaders Program - Registrations will open Tuesday 28 January 2020
    Program commencing Thursday 28 May 2020

About Local Government Professionals Australia, SA

LG Professionals, SA is a not-for-profit member based association representing professionals working in local government in South Australia. 

We have the ability to link and connect people from different councils who may not otherwise form relationships or share. 

Our high quality professional development programs and networking events are uniquely local government – reflective of the culture of the sector and sensitive to the needs of its professionals. 

The content of our events and programs are informed by our members and people who genuinely care about the sector. 

We provide a safe and supportive environment in which to grow and learn while creating opportunities to make time away from the office to work on the business or on self. 

We award and acknowledge achievements of excellence.

We are proud to be part of a national Federation of State based Local Government Professionals Australia organisations, supported by a national office dedicated to supporting the National Local Government sector.

LG Professionals, SA   5 Hauteville Terrace, Eastwood SA 5063   Phone: 08 8291 7990
www.lgprofessionalssa.org.au